Co-Creating A More Diverse, Equitable, And Inclusive World With Appreciative Inquiry

Upcoming Course Dates

MonthTime zoneMore Info & Registration link
October 5 – 26, 2022 (Wednesdays)9 – 11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12 – 2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6 – 8pm SAST (South Africa)https://spaciousness.works/DEIWAICAIOCT2022
October 11 – November 1, 2022 (Tuesdays)9 – 11am EDT (US East Coast) / 3 – 5pm SAST (South Africa) https://spaciousness.works/DEIWAICAIOCT2022
October 13 – November 3, 2022 (Thursdays)9 – 11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12 – 2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6 – 8pm SAST (South Africa)https://spaciousness.works/DEIWAICAIOCT2022

Learn how to apply Appreciative Inquiry (AI) to create the social change of our time.

Overview

This moment is opportune for AI principles and tools to support the work on intercultural competence, diversity, equity and inclusion (ICDEI) issues like #BlackLivesMatters, #MeToo, and #RefugeesWelcome in the rise to the call to action. This course has been designed to support you through collaborative inquiry into what’s working and what’s possible to create the change we want to see in our workplaces, communities, and family systems.

This course is designed to support you in taking ICDEI actions with AI principles, process and tools. We invite you to come with a DEI project (big or small, personal or professional) and we will help you identify the individual and collective strengths within your initiative, develop generative questions to engage in listening and storytelling for positive possibilities, and ensure you have an action plan to co-create a more diverse, equitable and inclusive destiny.

We will share our expertise working in the fields of ICDEI and OD, including our theory of change and model published in an Inclusive Leadership book (2020, Routledge*). However, this course will not be a diversity, equity and inclusion training, an unconscious bias assessment, nor an anti-racism webinar. We will provide links to those resources, some which will form part of the pre-work, as there are incredible colleagues who have devoted their life and work to building ICDEI knowledge and skill set deep dives (for longer than the duration of this course permits).

This course is designed for all Appreciative Inquiry skill levels, whether you are new to AI or you’re an AI expert and yearning to incorporate ICDEI into your living AI practice. Come experience and learn how to apply our successful strengths based strategy and relational processes for systems change!

The Universe knows what you need and always sends the best right on time. This is how I would describe the integration of DEI and AI practices offered by Marlene and Tanya. The course was the best virtual experience I have had in the 13 months that I have been shut-in since before the pandemic. The tools leveraged for plenary, breakout, and offline were just the right lift to make an impact without feeling burdensome. And, their interactions with each other and with each of us made the space feel “SPACIOUS!” I am referring colleagues and integrating tools into my workshops immediately!

Kim M. Kerr

Learning Outcomes

As a result of participating in this 4-webinar series you will be able to:

– Actively contribute to a more diverse, equitable and inclusive world.
– Deepen your Appreciative Inquiry practice and tools.
– Work on your own DEI project at work, home or in your community using AI principles and tools.
– Establish a learning and accountability process and community for your AI DEI work.
– Create an Action Plan for your DEI project’s destiny.

Target Audience

DEI practitioners, Intercultural Competence, Communication and Skills educators, AI practitioners and AI students, consultants, coaches, collaborative group leaders and anyone seeking to strengthen their Appreciative Inquiry practices and tools to increase their intercultural competence, diversity, equity and inclusion work at work, home, or in their communities.

Delivery Method

This course will be delivered virtually using Zoom over 4 weeks with a two-hour webinar per week. Prior to this event, the facilitators will email you everything you need to participate in this course, including: the Zoom meeting login information and a link to an online collaboration space.

Please note: these virtual webinar sessions may be recorded for asynchronous reviewing, however, due to the experiential nature of the session and the extensive time working and learning in small groups they do not count towards certification of attendance. Asynchronous learning will focus on increasing confidence, courage and clarity through application of our unique processes. DEI resources and Appreciative Inquiry resources from the AI commons are highlighted.

Additionally, the course is designed as project-based learning, so plan on your expertise and project thriving with up to 3 hours of asynchronous group work between each 2 hour webinar. This asynchronous work is required course work as learning application happens in this space. Total time on the course to meet the intended learning outcomes: 15 hours.

Virtual Webinar Series

Webinar #1: Creating A Safe Container And Building A Community Of Practice – RENEW
We will share a relational theory of change and appreciative leadership model applied to ICDEI. We will discuss and identify various diversity markers and explore the term intersectionality, coined by Kimberlé Crenshaw, with an additional AI lens, e.g. “how might the term serve as a meaningful metaphor for bringing out the best of women by exploring layers of strengths and wisdom developed by living with multiple forms of inequality and disadvantage” (Thriving Women, Thriving World. 2019, Taos*). We will build understanding and trust through paired work and group shared agreements. The discussions will be informed in part through ICDEI pre-readings and personal experiences of positive change.

Webinar #2: Project-Based Work – RELATE
We will review and integrate AI principles, tools, and or process into ICDEI experiences and learning projects. Small groups will learn and practice a strengths based peer mentoring and coaching “Spaciousness Thinking Partners” process to grow each project. The process involves valuing and accessing diverse knowledge modalities to amplify and innovate solutions.

Webinar #3: Embodied Learning – CO-CREATE
We will strengthen the leadership of projects through deeper reflection and breakthroughs on limiting beliefs. We will craft and use generative questions to center living AI and ICDEI ethos and values in your professional and personal processes. What is emerging that informs our ICDEI future? How can this be practically applied? Where do you need further support? How can you share, learn and grow as an AI ICDEI community? What are the questions we need to consistently and persistently be asking to grow our ICDEI strengths-based practice?

Webinar #4: AI Action Plans In Individual, Collective, And Systemic ICDEI Initiatives – RESOLVE
We will conclude by harvesting the projects’ relational power for action. Our DEI resolve and resilience is explored by delving into the inner condition and external relationships (with both allies and antagonists) needed for successful action. We will reflect on and consolidate key insights and emerging wisdom in the course’s vast tool box for practical application post course.

To strengthen our community of practice, supportive materials, resources and recommended readings will be made available, as well as between-webinar sharing of practices, questions, and reflections into new ways of thinking.

As a fellow trainer, I just want to thank you for all the careful design you put into the DEI workshopYou are masters in welcoming the whole self into the learning adventure. I look forward to telling you all about my retreat’s success and where it takes us.

Barbara Lewis

Upcoming Course Dates

As part of our inclusion strategy for our US, EU, Africa, Australian and Asia audiences in different time zones, we have several upcoming course cycles scheduled at times suited to specific time zones as detailed below:

MonthTime zoneMore Info & Registration link
October 5 – 26, 2022 (Wednesdays)9-11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12-2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)https://spaciousness.works/DEIWAICAIOCT2022
October 11 – November 1, 2022 (Tuesdays)9-11am EDT (US East Coast) / 3-5pm SAST (South Africa)https://spaciousness.works/DEIWAICAIOCT2022
October 13 – November 3, 2022 (Thursdays)9-11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12-2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)https://spaciousness.works/DEIWAICAIOCT2022

Closed Courses

August 4 – 25, 2022. 9 – 11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12 – 2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6 – 8pm SAST (South Africa)


August 3 – 24, 2022. 9 – 11am SAST (South Africa) / 10am – 12pm EAT (East Africa) / 3 – 5pm HKT (Hong Kong)


May 10 – 31, 2022. 9 – 11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12-2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)


May 5 – 26, 2022. 10am-12pm SAST (South Africa) / 4-6pm HKT/CST (Hong Kong & Shanghai) / 6-8pm AEST (Australia)


May 4 – 25, 2022. 9 – 11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12-2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)


March 2 – 23, 2022. 8-10am GMT (UK) / 10am-12pm SAST (South Africa) / 4-6pm CST (Hong Kong)


February 15 – March 8, 2022. 8:30-10:30am CET (Central Europe) / 9:30-11:30am SAST (South Africa) / 3:30-5:30pm CST (Hong Kong)


February 2 – 23, 2022. 8-10am PDT (US West Coast) / 11am-1pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)


November 10 – December 28, 2021. 9-11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12-2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)


February 3 – 24, 2021. 8–10am PDT (US West Coast) / 11am – 1pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa) & CET (Europe)


April 7 – 28, 2021. 9-11am CET (Europe) / 10am-12pm SAST (South Africa) / 7-9pm AEDT (Australia)


May 5 – 26, 2021. 9-11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12-2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)


June 2 – 30, 2021. 9-11am PDT (US West Coast) / 12-2pm EDT (US East Coast) / 6-8pm SAST (South Africa)


October 6 – 27, 2021. 10am – 12pm CET (Europe) / 10am-12pm SAST (South Africa) / 7pm-9pm AEDT (Australia)